HPIBajaForumHPIBajaForum  

Go Back   HPIBajaForum > HPI Baja Garage > HPI Baja Engine and Exhaust


Sponsors
RC Discount Search

LSRC
Use HBF as the coupon code for 5% off!!!
FullForceRC
Killer-RC
Micro Hobby US
Turtle Racing
Vertigo Performance
DGI Racing
Axis R/C
Kraken RC
TFE
HPI Racing
ONeill Brothers
Team Phatdad RC

Primer ball doesn't fill

Discussion in HPI Baja Engine and Exhaust forum, started by rcgrsemunki.

Turtle Racing Products
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-20-2010, 12:38 PM
rcgrsemunki rcgrsemunki is offline
Member
1/5th Scaler
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Clearwater FL
Posts: 36
Trader Feedback: (0)
Primer ball doesn't fill

Can anyone tell me why a primer bulb wouldn't fill up? I recently took my carb apart for cleaning and now it won't fill. what did I do wrong? All I get is a thin layer of fuel in there and a lot of bubbles no matter how much I prime. The engine starts and seems to run fine but I know the bulb used to fill up much more than it does now. Any ideas?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2010, 01:51 PM
torn body's Avatar
torn body torn body is offline
Da Ding Ding ding ding
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Hampshire USA
Posts: 2,635
Trader Feedback: (20)
Make sure that you have the fuel feed (black hose) is on the lower carb fitting.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
baja free or die
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

AKA Paaka
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2010, 02:10 PM
XtReMe98 XtReMe98 is offline
Senior Member
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 1,466
Trader Feedback: (0)
also check to see if your fuel clunk filter (in the tank) is still attached to your black fuel line..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2010, 02:20 PM
4745steve 4745steve is offline
Baja Expert
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,753
Trader Feedback: (10)
check to make sure the fuel lines are installed proper, clear on top of carb and black on the lower connecter at the carb


also you may have put the diaphragm in the carb upside down
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2010, 05:29 PM
Bbbutch Bbbutch is offline
Baja Expert
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 858
Trader Feedback: (5)
Check for holes in the black fuel line. The holes tend to happen by the chunk filter and an inch or two back inside the tank.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2010, 06:55 PM
SnappyRC's Avatar
SnappyRC SnappyRC is offline
Advertiser
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Idaho
Posts: 2,509
Trader Feedback: (98)
Most likely its the tubes mixed up.

The fuel pickup line connects to the clunk in the tank and to the bottom nipple on the Carb.
The fuel return connects to the top of the Carb and goes barely into the tank grommet.
Page 41 of the 5b SS manual shows the tube connections.
PDF Manual for the Baja
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2010, 10:28 AM
rcgrsemunki rcgrsemunki is offline
Member
1/5th Scaler
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Clearwater FL
Posts: 36
Trader Feedback: (0)
Hey guys thanks a lot for your responses. I checked the fuel lines and the diaphragm and all is well. Is there something inside the carb itself that could be doing it? The only other thing I can think of is there are some rub marks on the fuel lines from the body and there might be a pinhole leak somewhere. When I replace them, is it ok to run the yellow Tygon fuel line all the to the clunk or does it need to be the black tubing?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-21-2010, 10:44 AM
Dunner Dunner is offline
Banned
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Here, most of the time
Posts: 5,141
Trader Feedback: (2)
If it is the same size, your Baja doesn't care what color it is.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-21-2010, 10:45 AM
anixie anixie is offline
Baja Expert
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Geel, Belgium
Posts: 2,420
Trader Feedback: (1)
any tube is fine, but as stated above make sure that the "clunky" one goes to the bottom and the other one (return tube) to the top of the carb
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-21-2010, 11:47 AM
ajl ajl is offline
Newbie
Gasser
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: michigan
Posts: 7
Trader Feedback: (0)
idk i had the exact same problem on my 813, i rebuilt the entire thing and it wouldnt fill. i ended up replacing ONLY the carb with another 813 and the problem was fixed. i have no idea why it happened.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-21-2010, 03:59 PM
rcgrsemunki rcgrsemunki is offline
Member
1/5th Scaler
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Clearwater FL
Posts: 36
Trader Feedback: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lounge singer View Post
if it still runs fine then... problem?
It runs fine yes, but I'm wary because my plug color is lighter than usual. Its a greyish brown and usually I try to to keep a light brown color. Also, if I richen it just an hour, it boggs and won't reach top rpm.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-21-2010, 05:10 PM
Dunner Dunner is offline
Banned
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Here, most of the time
Posts: 5,141
Trader Feedback: (2)
Go half that and you should be fine. Tune changes with weather.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-21-2010, 05:16 PM
XtReMe98 XtReMe98 is offline
Senior Member
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 1,466
Trader Feedback: (0)
^ totally..

The more you get used to tuning the better you'll get at it.. don't be shy to tune.. It'll get to the point that you'll tune almost every time you go out.. I'd say those carb screws move at least once every two outings (due to weather changes mostly..)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-01-2011, 04:19 PM
Bubba Mac Bubba Mac is offline
Member
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 67
Trader Feedback: (2)
I had the same problem.....lines were reversed. All is good now
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-01-2011, 06:29 PM
antleo antleo is offline
Senior Member
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: allentown pa
Posts: 295
Trader Feedback: (0)
maybe the bulb is pierced or the little filter is to gummed up or you are missing a gasket or installed something backwards check the simple stuff though then this
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-02-2011, 04:31 PM
huntinman huntinman is offline
Senior Member
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ruckersville, virginia
Posts: 951
Trader Feedback: (0)
I had a problem with the bulb not filling up with gas after I changed the diaphragm assembly, turned out I didn't have a gasket under the diaphragm assembly. it's just a thin one, easy to overlook.

Last edited by huntinman; 02-02-2011 at 05:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-02-2011, 05:02 PM
antleo antleo is offline
Senior Member
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: allentown pa
Posts: 295
Trader Feedback: (0)
^^^you mean gasket?^^^
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-02-2011, 05:07 PM
RDucky47's Avatar
RDucky47 RDucky47 is offline
Newly Divorced :)
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 2,465
Trader Feedback: (47)
My buddy had that problem, as mentioned above his fuel lines were reversed
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-02-2011, 05:07 PM
huntinman huntinman is offline
Senior Member
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ruckersville, virginia
Posts: 951
Trader Feedback: (0)
my bad, your right, thanks antleo
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-04-2011, 06:05 AM
EarthSurfer EarthSurfer is offline
Banned
Baja Maniac
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Grand Rapids, MI.
Posts: 3,028
Trader Feedback: (2)
You may have done nothing wrong. IMO, the carbs we use are the weak link. I had the same thing happen on a engine on my dyno. When ever I have a carb problem--I just put on a new carb. I keep a new one in my tool box at all times. If they were expensive, I would try to fix them--but why bother when they are only about $40.00 IMO.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Share This Post


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin - Copyright 2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Neither this website nor the forum provided is affiliated with, or endorsed, by Hobby Products International, Inc. (HPI). Further, this website is not affiliated with, or endorsed by, the owners of any the trademarks, service marks or trade names referred to by this website or within the forum unless specifically and expressly indicated. Any trademarks, service marks or trade names referred to on this website or in the forum remain the full property of their respective owners. The opinions expressed in the forum reflects solely the opinion(s) of the participants, visitors and members and may not reflect the opinion(s) of the website owner.